Vansh Sabre Foundation honours Mediamen, Sports Journalists

TNN Bureau. Updated: 5/14/2022 10:50:20 AM Jammu and Kashmir

JAMMU, May 13: Newly formed Vansh Sabre Sports Foundation today honoured Media and Sports Journalists with Prof Chaman Lal Gupta Khel Ratna Award for their direct and indirect contributions for the development of sports and sportspersons in Jammu and Kashmir.

Mayor Jammu, Chander Mohan Gupta was the chief guest, who in the presence ofAnil Gupta, president Swami Vivekanand Medical Mission Charitable Hospital, who presided the event, Arun Gupta, president Chamber of Commerce and Industries and Academician, sports enthusiast and senior officer of the University of Jammu, Ranjit Kalra honoured the members of the media fraternity.

Earlier, all 24 awardees and their family members were welcomed by Anil Gupta, who appreciated each one of them for their contributions. He was all praise for Vansh Sabre Sports Foundation for taking the initiative and complimented the team including Dr Anil Padha (president), Satish Sharma (vice president), Bhanu Vijay Sharma (joint secretary), Anil Modi (treasurer) and Surinder Mohan (member trustee).

Mayor Appreciates

Chander Mohan Gupta, Mayor Jammu appreciated the role Media, particularly those individuals, who highlight the achievements of sportspersons thus encouraging the youngsters to take up games in a big way. He recalled the contributions of former Union Minister and tall leader of Jammu, Prof Chaman Lal Gupta towards sports, especially the game of Kabaddi.

Guest of honour, Arun Gupta congratulated the awardees and hoped that the efforts on part of the media men to highlight and encourage the sportsmen in their endeavour to achieve the desired results.

Ranjit Kalra told the gathering that J&K has got immense potential in sports and the way infrastructure has been developed at the district level by the Government, the day was not far when the UT makes its presence felt at the National sports scene. He said that role of media was imperative for the growth of sports.

Vote of thanks presented by the secretary of Vansh Sabre Sports Foundation, Kuldeep Gupta. He complimented the awardees while conveying his gratitude to the chief guest, Mayor Jammu and guests of honour, Anil Gupta, Arun Gupta, Ranjit Katra and office bearers and members of the sports associations for being part of the award function.

The Awardees

Sohail Kazmi (Taskeen), Shiv Chander Sharma (Freelance Journalist) , Vinod Kumar (JK Media Network), Vivek Sharma (State Times), Sudhir Kumar (Kashmir Times), Afzal Shah (Kashmir Times), Sanjeev Sharma (Sportsline), Nitish Arora (AIR), Vikas Abrol (Dainik Jagran), Vishal Bharti (UNI), Surjeet Singh (Northlines), Surinder Sharma (formerly news head of JK Channel) , Junaid Hashmi (The Straight Line), Vijay Gupta (Young Bites), Khushvinder Singh (Dainik Savera), Amit Sawhney (Journey Line), Faheem Tak (Take One Channel), Goldy Sharma (Excelsior), Arun Kumar (Amar Ujala), Inderjeet Raina (The Tribute), Arun Singh (Early Times), Lalit Khajuria and Sumit Sharma (News Now).

Sports Awards

The Vansh Sabre Sports Foundation has almost completed the process of finalising the names for the maiden Prof Chaman Lal Gupta Khel Ratna Sports Award constituted in the name of sports lover, veteran leader and former Union Minister, Prof. Chaman Lal Gupta. “Such awards shall be presented to International Players, Referees, Coaches, Sports Doctors, Administrators in sports associations and those Government officials serving with sports departments and Life Time Achievement Award. The list also included those Daronacharya and Arjuna Awardees from J&K by the end of this month. And efforts are being made to make the Award function a regular feature,” informed secretary of the Foundation, Kuldeep Kumar Gupta.

The Distinguished Guests

Among the distinguished guests were presidents and secretaries of different sports association including Dr O D Sharma, Balbir Singh Jamwal (both Badminton), B S Tirthi (treasurer J&K Olympic Association), Atul Gupta, Baldev Raj (both Chess), Ravinder Singh (Cycling), S. S. Gill (Athletics),

Bhanu Vijay Sharma, Sanjay Sharma (both Fencing), Ravinder Singh (Gymnastics), Shiv

Kumar Sharma, Prithvi Raj Sharma (both Indian Style Wrestling), Manmeet Singh, Harjeet Singh (both Kho-Kho), Ambedkar Gupta (Karate), Manjit Singh (Korfball), VK Magotra (Volleyball), Vikram Handa (Basketball), Anshuman Sharma (Yoga), Madhu Sharma (Rollball), Jodh Singh, Ravinder Singh (both Tug of War), SM Bali (Joint Secretary IOA) and Ajay Sharma (Powerlifting)

Comment on this Story