PM Narendra Modi to pay a day's visit to Karnataka and kick-start LS election Campaign at Hubballi on Sunday

TNN Bureau. Updated: 2/9/2019 2:52:23 PM Politics

Hubballi, Feb 9: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will kick-start BJP’S campaign for the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections from the city, considered as the Gateway of Mumbai-Karnataka region, by addressing a public rally here on Sunday.

According to BJP sources, a large number of people and party workers from across North Karnataka are expected to attend the public meeting where Mr Modi is expected to launch a tirade against the JD(S)-Congress coalition government in the State. Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy has been vocal against Mr Modi repeated statements in the recent days.

Mr Modi, besides addressing a public rally, is scheduled to lay the foundation stone for construction of building for Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) and Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIIT) both at Dharwad, about 20 km from here and inaugurate some of the Central Government funded projects.

The Prime Minister would also dedicate the City Gas Distribution project at Dharwad and other projects like Mangaluru Strategic Petroleum Reserve Facility, Padur Strategic Petroleum Reserve facility and doubling of Chikkajajur-Mayakonda railway line

Meanwhile, Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy, who has been a vocal critic of Mr Modi, has expressed dissatisfaction over the union government not extending an invitation to him despite the State government provided free land for the two central institutes besides financial participation in gas and railway projects. ‘’I will not be able to go to Hubballi tomorrow to participate in the PM programmes,’’ he said in Bengaluru today.

In a press Conference on Friday, Chief Minister had said that "Prime Minister had not shown courtesy to the people of the State by inviting the head of the state government".

He charged that Prime Minister Modi, while speaking in Lok Sabha on Thursday, had misled the house, on the issue of the implementation of the Farm Loan Waiver scheme of the Congress-JDS Coalition Government.

Senior BJP leaders including B S Yeddyurappa, Jagadish Shettar, Prahlad Joshi, R Ashok, party's MLAs and MLCs are striving hard to make the event a success, besides BJP Union Ministers D V Sadananda Gowda, Ramesh Jigajinagi and Ananth Kumar Hegde.

Comment on this Story