Tuesday, October 15, 2019Poll body bans exit polls during Assembly elections, bypolls

New Delhi, Oct 15: The Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday reiterated a complete ban on exit polls during the upcoming elections.

The ban will be effective "from 7 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. on October 21" when Haryana and Maharashtra goes to polls. Bypolls to 51 Assembly constituencies in 17 states will also be held on the same day, apart from the two parliamentary constituencies of Satara in Maharash


Tuesday, October 15, 2019800 stone-pelters among 1000 detainees in Kashmir; situation totally normal: Shah

JAMMU: Claiming that situation was totally normal in Jammu and Kashmir, Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Monday said that only 1000 person are under precautionary detention currently including former Chief Ministers of the state Omar Abduallah, Farooq Abduallah and Mehbooba Mufti, in the 72 days since the abrogation of article 370 and 35A of the Constitution.
“Of these, 800 are stone-pelters,” S


Tuesday, October 15, 2019‘Never stopped NC, PDP, Cong from BDC election’

JAMMU: Asserting that non-participation of political parties in Block Development Council (BDC) polls of Jammu and Kashmir will not delegitimize the process, Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Monday said the regional parties were not stopped by anyone from contest.
The Congress party has officially boycotted BDC polls while National Conference (NC) and People Democratic Party (PDP) has maintained


Sunday, October 13, 2019Maha polls: Raj targets BJP for not raising 'relevant' issues

Thane, Oct 13: Criticising BJP leaders for highlighting abrogation of Article 370 during their campaigns for the upcoming Maharashtra polls, MNS chief Raj Thackeray has questioned the saffron party's silence on issues like farmer suicides and bad condition of roads in the state.

Addressing election rallies on Saturday night in Thane district's Bhiwandi and Kalyan towns for the MNS candidates,


Sunday, October 13, 201927 elected unopposed; 1065 left in poll fray for 283 block councils

Independents make for 78%; BJP’s chunk 91% among political parties

JAMMU: As many as 27 candidates were elected unopposed as chairmen of Block Development Councils (BDCs), while as many as 1065 candidates are now left in the fray for the remaining 283 councils the elections to which will be held across Jammu and Kashmir on October 24.
"A total of 1,092 nominations, including 853 independents, were found eligible after the scrutiny and withdrawal the last date f