6.63 lakh people cast vote as Srinagar records 38% voter turnout; second-highest since 1996

Wajahat Shabir. Updated: 5/14/2024 12:57:36 AM Front Page

Kangan witnesses highest 58.80% voting turnout, Habba Kadal lowest; People reaffirmed faith in democracy, says LG

SRINAGAR: A tentative 38 percent turnout was recorded for the Srinagar parliamentary constituency, which went to polls Monday in the fourth phase. From a total of 17.47 lakh, 6.63 lakh electorates exercised their right to franchise.
38.7 % voter turnout marked the second-highest turnout since 1989 in Srinagar parliament elections.
A total of 17,47,810 lakh voters were enrolled in phase IV, including 8,75,938 male and 8,71,808 female voters and 64 third-gender electorates.
As many as 24 candidates were in the fray for the Srinagar parliament elections, including National Conference’s candidate Agha Syed Ruhullah; Peoples Democratic Party’s candidate Waheed Para; Apni Party’s Mohd Ashreef Mir; Gana Suraksha Party’s Mohd Yousuf Bhat and Democratic Progressive Azad Party’s Amir Ahmad.
As per the details available with The News Now Kangan assembly segment recorded highest percent 58.80 polling while Habba Kadal registered the lowest percentage of 14.05 percent.
The tentative polling percentage of 37.93 is the second-highest turnout since 1996. The details read that in 1996, Srinagar recorded 40.94% voter turnout, 30.06% in 1998, 11.93% in 1999, 18.57% in 2004, 25.55% in 2009, 25.86% in 2014, and 14.43% in 2019.
Assembly segment wise voting percentage stood as Central Shalteng (26.43), Chadoora (49.10), Chari-Sharif (56.00), Channapora (22.97), Eidgah (26.81), Ganderbal (49.48), Habba Kadal (14.05), Hazratbal (28.08), Kangan (58.50), Khansahib (50.35), Khanyar (23.06), Lal Chowk (27.33), Pampore (38.01), Pulwama (43.99), Rajpora (45.79), Shopian (47.88), Tral (40.29) and Zadibal (29.41).
Addressing a press conference later in the evening, Chief Electoral Officer, Jammu and Kashmir, P.K Pole, said no single polling booth witnessed zero percent polling in the Srinagar parliamentary constituency.
Pole estimated the final polling percentage to be approximately 40 percent, noting the significant improvement in turnout compared to previous elections.
Pole mentioned that there were 2135 polling stations across 18 assembly segments. Over 8500 civil employees, along with double that number of police and CRPF personnel, worked tirelessly over the past two days to ensure the smooth conduct of the polls.
Pole stated that there were 2 lakh registered youth voters, and 26 special polling stations were set up for migrants. Over 6 thousand migrant voters cast their ballots, contributing to a tentative poll percentage of 36 percent among migrant voters.
It is pertinent to mention here that 20 polling booths were managed by women (also called pink polling stations), 18 polling booths were manned by specially abled persons, and 17 were manned by youths. Also, there were 21 green polling stations to spread the message about environmental concerns.
The purpose behind these special polling station was to spread awareness among sections of society like women, specially abled, first time young voters to come forward and exercise their right to vote.
Meanwhile, Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha congratulated the people and all the stakeholders on the high voter turnout in Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency today.
The Lt Governor on X said: “Today, people came out in large numbers to cast their votes in Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency and reaffirmed their faith in democracy and the constitution. I commend the hard work of all the stakeholders for the free, fair, peaceful, and smooth conduct of the polling. It is heartening to see the huge surge in voting percentage in the biggest festival of democracy. I truly appreciate the enthusiasm of electors and hopeful to see historic turnout. “in the next two phases. I appeal to all to vote without fear and vote with responsibility and pride”.

Comment on this Story

Search Fom Archive in This Category