3rd phase nomination today, BJP still in deep slumber for Ant-Raj

Vikram Sharma. Updated: 4/12/2024 12:02:37 AM Front Page

“PM Modi-Shah capable of opening Pandora Box for surprise candidate”

JAMMU: While the Election Commission of India (ECI) will begin the nomination process for the third phase of Lok Sabha polls starting tomorrow (Friday), Jammu and Kashmir Bharatiya Janata Party seems still in a quandary over the name of its party candidate to contest the third phase
The states and UTs included in phase 3 are Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Goa, Gujarat, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.
In Jammu and Kashmir, the all important Anantnag-Rajouri constituency falls in third phase, the polls for which would take place on May 7.
“ Bharatiya Janata Party is left with seven more days to take a call for announcement of its candidate which still seems to be a tough nut to crack by the Party. It does not have stature candidates matching the political acumen of Mehbooba Mufti and Mian Altaf for the belt,” said the sources within BJP.
They claim though BJP president Ravinder Raina could be the last minute choice for the party , but a Gujjar candidate from an administrative level could also be the last minute change , which too is not going to benefit saffrons against Muftis and Altafs.
“We are going to announce the candidate soon,” was a brief reply when BJP Chief Ravinder Rana was connected, but he kept cards close to his chest.
The ardent BJP supporters when asked about the delay in announcing the candidate for the prestigious seat, they collectively opined, “Wait and watch what Modi-Shah will bring out from the Pandora’s Box to win the seat “.
While the nomination process for the third phase of Lok Sabha polls will begin from April 12 and will continue till April 19. The scrutiny of nominations will take place on April 20 with the last date for withdrawal of candidatures being April 22.
Gazette notifications for these constituencies will be released on Friday, the commission said in a press note. This phase will cover 94 parliamentary constituencies (PCs) spread across 12 states/Union Territories (UTs).

Updated On 4/12/2024 12:03:56 AM

Comment on this Story