No confidence motion moved against MC, Chairman, Udhampur; Voting today

Yogesh Sagotra. Updated: 9/22/2022 11:01:22 AM Front Page

Jammu: After recently losing control over Kathua Municipal Council, the Jammu and Kashmir Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seems heading towards another debacle in Udhampur as opposition among its four councilors had moved no confidence motion against MC President Jogeshwar Kumar Gupta, voting for which will be conducted on Thursday.
Jogeshwar Kumar Gupta, elder brother of former minister and MLA Pawan Gupta, who defeated BJP candidate during 2015 assembly elections and later joined the party, had fought the council elections as independent against BJP.
The Pawan Gupta group has secured nine seats in the house of 21 members while six seats go to Panthers Party candidates. The BJP was able to secure only four seats and the rest two went to Congress.
As per party sources, there is strong resentment against MC president Jogeshwar Kumar Gupta, following which opposition along with four members of BJP moved a no confidence motion.
After lots of delay, the Executive Officer of Municipality accepted the motion and decided to conduct discussion on the no-confidence motion and the floor test on September 22.
The EO has also issued a notice to all the councilors for this.
“A secret ballot in support of and against the no-confidence motion will be held after discussions in the meeting on September 22.
As per party insiders, ahead of the floor test, BJP leadership on Wednesday hold marathon meetings with all party councilors.
“Party president Ravinder Raina, General Secretary Ashok Koul, former deputy chief minister Kavinder Gupta, former minister Shakti Raj Parihar and other senior leaders tried to defuse the tension in Udhampur till late in the evening,” the insiders said. However, he informed that the chances of support from rebels seem very blink.
“BJP leadership tried to persuade the miffed party leaders and tried to avoid further embarrassment of losing one more municipal council in its stronghold,” the sources said.
Speaking exclusively to The News Now, Ravinder Raina expressed confidence that the party will overcome the Udhampur political situation.
“All our councilors are seasoned politicians. Our meeting with them remained fruitful. We sit together and resolve the misunderstandings,” he said and claimed that BJP has the support of 18 Councilors in Udhampur.
On the debacle in Kathua, Ravinder Raina said the situation in Kathua was different as some insiders betrayed the party leadership.
It is worthy to motioned that on 10th of this month BJP suffered a major setback in Kathua after its candidate and former district president, Pt Prem Nath Dogra lost the election to the post of President of Kathua Municipal Council by a margin of three votes as he was trounced by Rajinder Singh alias Bubby, Independent candidate and brother of former Minister, Ch Lal Singh.
The election to the post was necessitated after the former President, Naresh Sharma resigned from the post last month when the Party Disciplinary Committee issued a show cause notice against him for his anti party activities.
Out of total 21 votes, Rajinder Singh got 12 votes and BJP candidate Prem Nath Dogra secured 8 votes. One vote was rejected.
The BJP has also lost to Congress by a convincing margin in a by-election in Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Leh.
However, BJP Jammu and Kashmir said it has issued a show-cause notice to four of its councilors for moving a 'no-confidence motion' against president of the Udhampur Municipal Council Jogeshwar Gupta.
J-K BJP disciplinary committee chairman Sunil Sethi served notices on Vikas Sharma, Neha Verma, Rakesh Sharna and Mohmmad Sarber, the party said.
"You are as such directed to show cause as to why you should not be expelled from primary membership of the party for indulging in gross indiscipline, which will also entail losing your position as councilor of the Municipal Council of Udhampur under rules," Sethi said in the notice.
The notice further advised the councilors to immediately disassociate themselves from the no-confidence motion.
"Your reply should reach the committee within two days from today (Monday) positively, failing which it will be presumed that you have nothing to say in the matter," Sethi added.
Updated On 9/22/2022 11:12:13 AM

Comment on this Story