Oppn walks out after Naidu refuses to revoke suspension of MPs; RS, LS adjourn for the day

TNN Bureau. Updated: 11/30/2021 3:47:13 PM Politics

New Delhi: The Opposition parties, including the Congress, DMK and National Conference, on Tuesday walked out from both Houses of Parliament to protest the suspension of 12 opposition MPs from the Rajya Sabha and boycotted the day’s proceedings in the Upper House after the chairman asked them to apologise.

Amid Opposition protests, the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha have been adjourned for the day.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu rejected the request for the revocation of suspension of 12 MPs on Tuesday. He said that he was not considering Leader of the Opposition Mallikarjun Kharge’s appeal as the suspended MPs have not shown any remorse, but on the contrary, justified their acts.

After the walkout, opposition MPs demonstrated in front of Mahatma Gandhi’s statue inside Parliament complex, raising slogans against the government and its “dictatorial attitude”.

The TMC did not walk out of the Lok Sabha or stage a protest. In the Rajya Sabha, however, the party’s members staged a walkout a short while after the other opposition MPs. Their leader Derek O’Brien said it’s not the opposition but the 80 MPs of the treasury benches who should be suspended as they blocked certain discussions during the previous monsoon session.

Comment on this Story