Mayawati joins Twitter before Lok Sabha polls

TNN Bureau. Updated: 2/6/2019 2:03:26 PM Jammu and Kashmir

Lucknow, Feb 6: Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati at last joined the micro-blogging site Twitter, just before the Lok Sabha polls.

'This is to inform you that Bahujan Samaj Party national president, former UP Chief Minister and former MP Mayawati has for the first time decided to join Twitter, for speedy interaction with media and masses, besides expressing her views on various issues of national and political importance through the site,' a statement issued by BSP on Wednesday said.

Ms Mayawati's official Twitter handle is @sushrimmayawati. It was actually created last year in October, but was put to use only this year in January.

Tweeting for the first time on January 22, Mayawati wrote, “Hello brothers and sisters. With due respect let me introduce myself to the Twitter family. This is my opening and inauguration. @sushrimayawati is my official twitter handle for all my future interactions, comments and updates. With warm regards. Thank you."

However, the tweet went largely unnoticed for the longest time – until RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav welcomed her to the micro-blogging site on Tuesday.

Mr Yadav wrote that he had requested the BSP chief to join Twitter during their meeting in Lucknow on January 13.

'Finally glad to see you here. Happy that you acknowledged and respected my request of joining twitter during our meeting in Lucknow on 13th January. Warm Regards.'

Twitter verified the account within minutes of the BSP issuing the statement. Mayawati's handle has more than 6,000 followers up till now and she follows only one person - Twitter Support.

Seven out of the first 11 tweets are press releases from her party. "Connect me directly, get party views and updates. With regards (sic)," she tweeted on January 23.

Mayawati's Twitter handle's cover image is one of her posing with two books she has authored and also carries images of Baba Saheb Bhim Rao Ambedkar, along with BSP founder Kanshiram and an electoral symbol of BSP.

Comment on this Story