Governor's rule: 27 political appointees demit office in J&K

TNN Bureau. Updated: 7/11/2018 4:55:43 PM Jammu and Kashmir

Srinagar, Jul 11: Barring vice-chairman of Wakf board Nizamuddin Bhat of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), all political persons appointed during previous coalition government of PDP-BJP as chairperson, vice chairperson, deputy chairman of various Boards, Corporations, Public Sector Undertaking (PSUs) in the state have demitted office.

During the coalition government, 28 persons were engaged as chairperson, vice-chairperson, deputy-chairman of various Boards, Corporations and PSUs in the State, an official spokesperson said.

The PDP-BJP coalition collapsed after BJP pulled out from the Mehbooba Mufti led government in the state, which later came under Governor rule as no party came forward to form the new government.

Spokesman said that in tune with the provisions of the Standing Operating Procedure (SOP) twenty-five political appointees have submitted their resignation which have been accepted by the Governor.

Immediately after the imposition of the Governor’s Rule last month, the State Government had asked all the Administrative Departments to implement the provisions of SOP which inter-alia provide resignation of members, chairpersons of various statutory, non-statutory Boards and Organizations.

Only the vice-chairman of Wakf Board is yet to demit Office as his appointment is regulated by Section 9 of the Jammu and Kashmir Specified Wakafs and Specified Wakaf Properties (Management and Regulation) Act, 2004.

Comment on this Story