Security Must Be Provided to Congress leaders Against Hizbul Mujahideen Threats : Sawhney

TNN Bureau. Updated: 9/14/2020 4:45:47 PM Jammu and Kashmir

District Congress Committee Holds Meeting, Passes Resolutions on Panchvakhtar Land Case, Threats by Hizbul Mujahideen and other issues

District Congress Committee conducted a meeting today Party headquarters at Shaheedi Chownk, Jammu wherein various issues pertaining to the wellbeing of Jammu were discussed. The meeting, comprising of district office bearers, block presidents and ward presidents, was chaired by Former Minister J&K Yogesh Sawhney, General Secretary JKPCC In Charge District President Jammu Urban. In the meeting, discussions and deliberations upon the various issues was held following which the members passed various resolutions to bring their policy decisions to effect.

The assembled leaders, firstly, extended a resolution of thanks to the party high-command leadership for appointment of Rajni Patil as AICC In charge Jammu Kashmir. The DCC welcomed his appointment and expressed great satisfaction to Smt. Sonia Gandhi for the same.

Furthermore, in view of the threat letters to senior Congress leaders Raman Bhalla, Jugal Kishore Sharma and Madan Lal Sharma, DCC unanimously adopted a resolution demanding provision of security to Congress leaders and other secular party leaders who had been threatened by the Hizbul Mujahideen organization. They resolved to ensure full proof security for leaders in view of the threats, asking the administration to lend security arrangements to prevent any mishap and to assure the safety of the said leaders.

Prominent Congress leaders had attended the meeting including Krishan lal gupta , Dr Ramakant Khajuria , Ch. Sukhdev Singh , ML Malagar , Jyoti Vaid, Pawandev Singh, Ch Dwarka, Ch Sobit Ali , Virinder sigh Manhas, Uttam Singh chib, Satish Sharma , Kulbhushan Sharma , Rajesh Sharma, Vinay Dutta , Sushant Gupta, Cameres David, Chander Shekhar Sharma, Atul Sharma , Gurmeet Singh, Michel Wazir, Aman Bawa, Satpal Sapolia , Anand Gandotra , Pawan Sharma, Manmohan Sharma, Mandeep Singh , Sanjay Mahi, Somdutt Sharma, Raju Katyal, Diwan Chand, Ajay Kumar, Gurdeep Singh, Jatinder Singh, Dimpa , Rakesh chopra, Rakesh Sharma, Balwinder Singh, Rinku, sahildeep Singh, Harbans singh, Jasvir Singh ,Vijay Singh ,Rajinder Singh Randhawa, and Sandeep Dogra.

The leaders also discussed the Panchvakhtar Temple Land issue and Demanded through another resolution that a full fledged inquiry is set up by the administration in that matter which involves many high-level players and individuals. The leaders stated that an agitation will be launched against the perpetrators if a high level probe into the matter is not initiated. The issue has been in the limelight for it's illegal land controversy wherein several authorities like the JDA, JMC and BJP leadership have been allegedly involved in a fraudulent attempt to grab the temple land for commercial purposes. The Congress swore to continue the stir on the land row of Panchvakhtar temple until their demands are accepted, since no inquiry has been conducted till date into the matter as demanded by them.

Another agenda of the meeting was the issue of party dissention. The party made a resolve to ban re-entry of party dissenters into the party fold, to discourage dissention and instability in the party.

Also speaking on the issue of lack of facilities in GMC, the leaders highlighted a need for GMC and associated hospitals to improve upon treatment facilities and other problematic areas such as lack of oxygen, as appearing in the media.

The DCC, today, also paid their tributes to Sri Janak Raj Gupta, a Congress veteran leader on his death anniversary. They observed silence in his name and paid homage to the late leader before commencement of business for the day.

Comment on this Story